Parish Council

Lay Leadership

“A leader is a person who must take special responsibility for what’s going on inside him or her self, inside his or her consciousness, lest the act of leadership create more harm than good”

At Zoodohos Peghe we are about welcoming seekers, forming disciples and developing leaders. Leadership is shared, relational, being accountable and taking others into account.

Clergy and staff at Zoodohos Peghe are a function of the ministry of the whole people of God, not the other way around. Identifying, developing, linking and deploying leadership is an ongoing part of the life and work of Zoodohos Peghe. Becoming a Parish Council member includes modeling one’s membership in faith terms; i.e. through active participation in worship, education, fellowship, stewardship and the mission and ministry of the church.

As members go deeper in their involvement, some develop smaller or larger networks of relationships that define them as leaders. Such leaders are essential in helping others find places of belonging and in moving other ­ newcomers, members and leaders ­ into places of ministry so that no one wanders with uncertainty into the life of this community.

Leadership involves knowing one’s self in relation to God and others. As someone stated, “A leader is a person who has an unusual degree of power to project on other people his or her shadow, or his or her light. A leader is a person who has an unusual degree of power to create the conditions under which other people must live and move and have their being—conditions that can either be as illuminating as heaven or as shadowy as hell”.


The Parish Council of 2019


President: Sophia Zarvos

1st Vice President: Constantine Casvikes

2nd Vice President: John Korres

Church Treasurer: Kosta Karounos

2nd Treasurer: Mike Pappas

Secretary: Jim Mamaes

Parish School

School Board President: Demos Lorentzos

Secretary: Manos Manouilidis

Treasurer: Harry Vlahopoulos

Members of the Parish Council

Stefanos Daskalakis George Magriples
Spyro Dimitratos Jordan Siskos
George Germanakos Theodosios Siskos
Nicholas Germanakos Chris Stilianesis
Paris Karounos Dennis Zervos